My oh my this company likes to get around (aka keep changing names so people can’t get information on the scam-company as easily).
As of today, with my previous post about Watson Brooks, I have received many comments about similar shell company names that this shady company uses. It appears that they are using at least 8 different company names. Many of the actual websites appear to be down, but people continue to get letters from them:
But three are still up and rocking that awful website music:
Alas, I have heard nothing more from them to me about their legal threats. I keep checking my Facebook inbox and I guess Amy Yates doesn’t want to be friends. Also, it appears they have at least four letter signers of fake Vice Presidents to:
I wouldn’t put it past this company to continue to put these letters out under different shell company names. If you know of any others, let me know in the comments so I can add it to the list.
Update 9/18: Added a new company name and Vice President to the list – thanks to Sam for sharing another shell company name! Also – it appears that all of these shell companies are being driven by “TravelAgencyAppointment.com“. It looks like most of these shell company sites are down, but they are certainly still pumping out the scam letters. This is getting down right stupid.
Stupid company…
Popularity: 100%
I got home today to find I had a new Facebook message from one Amy Yates. My first thought was “damn… why does that name sound so familiar?”
I quickly remembered who Amy Yates is – she is the teleporting-signature changing VP of Watson Brooks! Able to personally sign thousands of letters all postmarked from different locations!
I open the message up to find legal threats against my post on their letter they sent to me…
Wow – serving me a legal notice on Facebook? That is soooo Web 2.0.
In the spirit of the many signature of Amy Yates, her Facebook profile picture looks suspiciously like a stock photograph:
Amy could be in a catalog somewhere! I did a quick image search for a “business woman”, but couldn’t track down the source image of this photo – anyone out there have Sherlock-Holmes tracking skills for stock photography? I would really love to find it…
I’m tempted to add Miss “Multiple Signature Personality” Amy Yates as my friend and see what she does. Anyways, in the spirit of my last post on Watson Brooks, I’m updating the list of phone numbers they use based on your comments. It amazes me that a “legitimate” company would need so many phone numbers for their valuable prize giveaways…
| 210-301-0087 | San Antonio, TX |
| 214-932-0716 | Dallas, TX |
| 302-365-8228 | Delaware |
| 302-526-5000 | Delaware |
| 302-526-5219 | Delaware |
| 303-209-4159 | Denver, CO |
| 303-242-3511 | Denver, CO |
| 407-358-6163 | Orlando, FL |
| 480-281-0118 | Phoenix, AZ |
| 480-567-1642 | Phoenix, AZ |
| 732-481-4573 | Central NJ |
| 732-676-4052 | Central NJ |
| 732-676-4053 | Central NJ |
| 817-786-3340 | Fort Worth, TX |
| 973-302-9053 | Northern NJ |
| 973-302-9053 |
| 214-932-0716 |
| 302-365-8228 |
| 302-526-5219 |
| 302-526-5000 |
| 480-281-0118 |
| 480-567-1642 |
| 732-676-4053 |
| 732-676-4052 |
| 732-481-4573 |
| 303-242-3511 |
| 303-209-4159 |
| 407-358-6163 |
| 210-301-0087 |
| 817-786-3340 |
Update 8/19/09: Many thanks to commenter “Rich” for finding the stock photo of my good Facebook friend Miss “Amy Yates”. Stock Photo 1, Stock Photo 2. I love that these were found!
Popularity: 25%